ANNUAL COUNCIL

Tuesday 14 May 2024

Present:-

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor Councillor Kevin Mitchell (Lord Mayor) Councillors Allcock, Asvachin, Banyard, Begley, Bennett, Bialyk, Darling, Foale, Fullam, Haigh, Harding, Holland, Hughes, Hussain, Jobson, Ketchin, Knott, Miller, Mitchell, M, Moore, D, Palmer, Parkhouse, Patrick, Pole, Read, Rees, Rolstone, Sheridan, Snow, Vizard, Wardle, Williams, M, Williams, R, Wood and Wright

Apologies:-

Councillors Atkinson, Ellis-Jones and Wetenhall

Also Present

Chief Executive, Monitoring Officer, Service Lead Legal Services, Democratic Services Manager, Democratic Services Officers (PMD and LS)

1 <u>ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR</u>

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Wright seconded by Councillor M. Mitchell, that Councillor Kevin Mitchell be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with his Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

2 APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Bialyk, seconded by Councillor Patrick, that Councillor Paul Knott be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with his Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

3 <u>VOTE OF THANKS</u>

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation and thanks in respect of Councillor Tess Read, who had served as the Deputy Lord Mayor, and also to the Deputy Lord Mayor's Consort. Councillor Rees spoke of Councillor Read's ability to see the best in people and to seize every opportunity to meet new people, including representing the city at a number of events.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

4 <u>ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CONFIRMATION OF THE</u> DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Bialyk was appointed as Leader of the Council. Councillor Bialyk confirmed the appointment of Councillor Wright as Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED that Councillor Bialyk be elected as Leader of the Council and Councillor Wright as Deputy Leader.

APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Bialyk, P. Leader

5

6

Wright, L. Deputy Leader and Corporate Services & City Centre

Vizard, M. Climate, Ecological Change and Communities

Asvachin, M. Housing, Homelessness Prevention and Customer Services

Wood, D. Leisure Services & Healthy Living

Williams, R. City Management
Allcock, N. City Development
Foale, R. Arts, Culture & Tourism

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

Alternative options had been submitted by the Labour and Progressive Groups in respect of the Chairs of the Strategic Scrutiny Committee, the Customer Focus Scrutiny Committee and the Audit and Governance Committee.

A vote was taken on each of the nominations where it was RESOLVED that:-

- Councillor Parkhouse be appointed at the Chair of the Customer Focus Scrutiny Committee;
- Councillor Pole be appointed at the Chair of the Strategic Scrutiny Committee; and
- Councillor Wardle be appointed at the Chair of the Audit and Governance Committee.

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc., Chairs and Deputy Chairs and Independent Persons, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be approved.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 7.52 pm)

Chair

EXETER CITY COUNCIL

EXECUTIVE, SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES: 2024/25

EXECUTIVE (8)

Bialyk, P.M. (Leader)	Foale, R.
Wright, L. (Deputy Leader)	Vizard, M.
Allcock, N.J.	Williams, R.T,
Asvachin, M.Y.	Wood, D.

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS (8)

Bialyk, P.	Leader
Wright, L.	Deputy Leader and Corporate Services & City Centre
Vizard, M.	Climate, Ecological Change and Communities
Asvachin, M.	Housing, Homelessness Prevention and Customer Services
Wood, D.	Leisure Services & Healthy Living
Williams, R.	City Management
Allcock, N.	City Development
Foale, R.	Arts, Culture & Tourism

CUSTOMER FOCUS SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (14)

Parkhouse, J.C.M. (Chair) *	Hussain, J.
Rees, C (Deputy Chair) *	Miller, M.
Begley, J.	Moore, D.
Darling, D.	Patrick, S.
Fullam, A.	Pole,L.
Harding, R.	Read, T.
Holland, P	Wardle, A.J.

STRATEGIC SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (14)

Pole, L. (Chair) *	Knott, P.
Mitchell, M. (Deputy Chair) *	Moore, D.
Atkinson, Y.	Palmer, T.
Ellis-Jones, J.	Rees, C.
Haigh, L.	Rolstone, G.
Hughes, Z.	Snow, M.I.
Jobson, A	Williams, M.J.

SCRUTINY PROGRAMME BOARD (5)

Williams, M.J. (Chair)	Rees, C.
Mitchell, M.	Pole, L.
Parkhouse, J.C.M.	

AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (12)

Wardle, A.J. (Chair) *	Miller.M.
Jobson, A. (Deputy Chair)	Mitchell, M.
Atkinson, Y.	Moore, D. *
Begley, J.	Palmer,T.
Ketchin, A,	Patrick, S.
Knott, P.	Williams, M.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (14)

Knott, P. (Chair)	Hussain, J.
Patrick, S. (Deputy Chair)	Jobson, A.
Asvachin, M.	Ketchin, A.
Atkinson, Y.	Miller, M.
Banyard, J.	Mitchell, M.
Bennett, C.	Pole, L.
Hughes, Z.	Rolstone, G.

PLANNING MEMBER WORKING GROUP (8)

Patrick, S. (Chair)	Mitchell, M.
Atkinson, Y.	Pole, L.
Bennett, C.	Rolstone, G.
Jobson, A.	Knott, P. (Chair of Planning)

LICENSING COMMITTEE (14)

Snow,M.I. (Chair)	Holland, P.
Begley, J. (Deputy Chair)	Hussain, J.
Banyard, J.	Miller, M.
Bennett, C.	Parkhouse, J.C.M.
Fullam, A.	Sheridan, A.
Haigh, L.	Wood, D.
Harding, R.	Williams, M. J.

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (3)

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

COMMUNITY GRANTS PANEL (6)

Vizard, M. (Chair)	Hughes, Z.
Darling, D.	Knott, P.
Holland, P.	Moore, D.

EXETER TRANSPORT WORKING GROUP (6)

Vizard, M. (Chair)	Wardle, A, J.
Holland, P.	Wetenhall, L.
Knott, P.	Wood, D.

EXETER HARBOUR BOARD (12)

(6 City Councillors)

Williams, R.T. (Chair)	Read, T.
Rolstone, G.	Snow, M.
Sheridan, A.	Williams, M.

(6 External Members)

ROYAL ALBERT MEMORIAL MUSEUM & ART GALLERY (RAMM) OVERSIGHT PANEL

(8)

(6 City Councillors)

Foale, R. (Chair)	Darling, D.
Atkinson, Y.	Jobson, A.
Banyard, J.	Snow, M.

(2 External Members)

COUNCILLOR DEVELOPMENT STEERING GROUP (6)

Wright, L. (Chair)	Palmer, T
Foale, R.	Vizard, M.
Jobson, A.	Williams, R.

COUNCIL HOUSING ADVISORY AND DEVELOPMENT BOARD (10)

(5 City Councillors)

Begley, J.	Fullam, A.
Asvachin, M.	Wardle.A.
Darling, D.	

(5 External Members)

INDEPENDENT PERSONS

Mr I Brooking and Professor B. Kirby appointed as Independent Persons to assist the Council in promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct amongst its Elected Members.

STRATA JOINT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (3) – (1 FROM ECC)

Bialyk, P.M. (Leader)	

STRATA JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9) – (3 FROM ECC)

Knott, P.	
Mitchell, M.	
Patrick, S.	

EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)

(4 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M.	Wright, L
Wetenhall, L.	Wood, D.

(9 County Councillors)